This is the "BUSN 489" page of the "Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NDSU Libraries resources for management
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/management Print Guide RSS Updates

BUSN 489 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Environmental Analysis

A PEST analysis includes political, economic, social, and technological factors. The industry profiles may cover these factors. Additional resources include:

  • Congressional Budget Office
    Provides nonpartisan analysis of proposed legislation. Consider the economic outlook and policies that may affect your firm.
  • Federal Reserve Economic Data
    Create charts of key economic indicators, including the GDP, prime lending rate, exchange rates and more. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    In addition to economic and labor information, the BLS reports on consumer spending and time use.
  • Census Bureau
    Covers social, economic, and geographic data from the American Community Survey, Economic Census, and more. Provides infographics visualizing trends.
  • Pew Research Center
    Provides reports on social and demographic trends, internet and technology, politics, and more from a nonprofit research center.
  • Nielsen Reports
    While primarily known for its ratings of top television shows, Nielsen also reports on consumer trends.
  • CIO Resource Library
    Offers white papers and case studies on technology trends from the professional organization for chief information officers.
  • Communications of the ACM: Research
    Highlights the latest research on computing technologies.
  • United States Patent & Trademark Office  
      
    Companies apply for patent protection before going public with new technologies. Search the latest patent applications of your competitors.

Industry Profiles

You can identify your industry by looking up your company in the database Mergent Online or by searching the Census Bureau's NAICS website.

Industry News

Industry Financial Ratios

Compare your company's financial ratios to the industry average.

  • Mergent Intellect
    Click on the "D&B Key Business Ratios" icon to navigate to financial ratios for your industry. Includes the option to import company data to compare it to industry averages.
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies (print book)
    Includes average financial ratios for nearly 800 industries, with breakdowns by company size. Only available in print at the Business Learning Center; most recent year in reference section.

Company Profiles

Company News

  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
      
    Find articles about your company from newspapers, journals, and trade publications.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Provides the most comprehensive news and legal coverage.
  • Mergent Intellect
    See news in relation to daily closing prices, top business tweets, and the latest news for your company.
  • ProQuest Newsstand (ProQuest)  
      
      Icon
    This database is the Major Newspapers collection, which includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find news information.
 

Company Website

Search for your company name + corporate. The company's corporate website focuses on selling the company to investors and includes annual reports, which will provide you with a wealth of information.

 

Get Help

Ask us for help using chat at the bottom right of the screen.

Call the reference desk at: 701-231-8886

Email: ndsu.library.reference@ndsu.edu

North Dakota State University Libraries
NDSU Dept #2080 PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Reference (701) 231-8886
Circulation (701) 231-8888
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip