accessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
The AAT is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 131,000 terms and other information about concepts. Terms in AAT may be used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival materials.
- Art cyclopedia
Guide to great art on the Internet.
An important design-related resource containing 3 separate databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective (see Design and Applied Arts Index), Design ProFiles (information on artists, designers, firms, etc.), and ReVIEW (digitized versions of international art and design journals from 1870s-1920s). Free research guides also available.
- Bibliography of the History of Art / Répertoire de la litterature de l'art
BHA and RILA, searchable together, cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the project is produced at the University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System.
- Google Art Project
A unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art museums to enable people to discover and view more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail.
Creates and coordinates Internet networks with the common objective of advancing teaching and research in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art - Collection Online
Nearly 400,000 digital images of artworks in the public domain widely and freely available for scholarly and academic publication.
- Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages
Compiled by the University of Michigan School of Art and Design. Includes links to image collections, art museums, art schools, research resources, and more.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Contains several good collections for history, the arts and fashion.
- Rhizome Artbase
Founded in 1999, the Rhizome ArtBase is an online archive of digital art containing over 2,500 art works. Encompassing a vast range of projects from artists all over the world, the ArtBase provides an online home for works that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers towards aesthetic and critical ends. The mission of the ArtBase is to provide free, open, and permanent access to a living and historic collection of seminal new media art objects.
- Timeline of Art History
An invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects.
- Union List of Artist Names Online
A structured vocabulary currently containing around 293,000 names and other information about artists.
- VADS: free art and design images for education
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.
- Voice of the Shuttle
Web pages for Humanities Research.
- Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 40,100 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.