Last Updated: Apr 4, 2016
- NTIS National Technical Information Service
The National Technical Information Service serves as a central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies
- TRAIL Technical Report Archive & Image Library
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.
- TRID Transportation Research Board
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
- Software Patent Institute
Nonprofit corporation formed to provide prior art related to software technology with the intention of improving the patent process.
Accessible to beginners and experts, Espacenet contains data on more than 90 million patent documents from around the world. Supporting information can help you understand whether a patent has been granted and if it is still in force.
- U.S. Patents (USPTO)
Full-Text and images of all U.S. Patents issued since 1790. Keyword searching for patents issued since January 1, 1976. Older patents searchable by patent number and US classification. Use TIFF image software for images (free available from Alternatiff)
- Canadian Patents
Database of over 75 years of patent descriptions and full text images of Canadian Patents. Searchable by keyword, patent number or inventor.
- European Patents
Index to European and Japanese (as well as U.S.) patent information. Bibliographic data, abstracts, and representative drawing are included; full text of patents is not available. Searchable by region, with links to patent offices of individual countries.
- WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. The WIPO is responsible for the promotion of the protection of intellectual property throughout the world.
- Japan Patent Office
Database of Japanese patents.
- Google Patents
Google Patents covers the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, EPO, and WIPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO to 1978.