Find books, journal articles, relevant websites, news, and more for your Food Safety research.
Last Updated: May 19, 2016
Depending on your topic, you may want to start with one of the following databases. See the next box (below this one) for more options.
- Web of Science (ISI)
Indexes about 9,000 major science and social science journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Also includes the cited references captured from indexed articles. Science coverage from 1900-present. Includes link to EndNote Web.
Contains over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Biological Sciences Database (CSA)
This database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents.
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Indexes over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, selected books and patents in the biological sciences. Also allows searching for figures and tables, as well as at the article level.
- BioOne Online Journals (BioOne)
BioOne is a global collaboration of scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to maximize access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is one of the world's largest electronic collections of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
You may also want to try:
- AGRICOLA (ProQuest)
AGRICOLA, produced by the National Agricultural Library, is a catalog and index of literature pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. Contains information on journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, patents, technical reports, and more. Includes or links to full-text when possible.
- CAB Abstracts (CAB Direct)
Covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1913.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts - 1990-current (ProQuest)
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
- SciFinder (CAS)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
- SciFinder Registration
In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.
- CRIS - Current Research Information System
The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.
- TOXLINE (ProQuest
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
- FTSA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts
FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is the world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. Abstracts are highly informative and wherever possible, include additional information of food-relevance from the original article.