Last Updated: Jan 28, 2016
Depending on your topic, you may want to start with one of the following databases. See the next box (below this one) for more options.
This resource, from the National Library of Medicine, searches tens of millions of records from life sciences journals and online books.
- Web of Science (ISI)
Indexes about 9,000 major science and social science journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Also includes the cited references captured from indexed articles. Science coverage from 1900-present. Includes link to EndNote Web.
- Biological Sciences Database (CSA)
Provides abstracts and citations to research in biology, microbiology, virology, zoology, ecology & environmental science, biotechnology, and many aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Indexes more than 6,000 journals. Coverage is 1982-present.
- Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
Contains abstracts of articles that focus on how organisms of all kinds interact with their environments and with other organisms. Coverage is from 1982-present. A subset of the Biological Sciences Database.
- BioOne Online Journals (BioOne)
BioOne is a global collaboration of scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to maximize access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is one of the world's largest electronic collections of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Indexes over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, selected books and patents in the biological sciences. Also allows searching for figures and tables, as well as at the article level.
You may also want to try:
- AGRICOLA (ProQuest)
AGRICOLA, produced by the National Agricultural Library, is a catalog and index of literature pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. Contains information on journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, patents, technical reports, and more. Includes or links to full-text when possible.
- CAB Abstracts (CAB Direct)
Covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1913.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts - 1990-current (ProQuest)
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
- MetaLib (GPO)
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
- SciFinder (CAS)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
- SciFinder Registration
In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.