This is the "Websites" page of the "Soil Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Soil Science  

Last Updated: Jan 20, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/soilscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Organizations

Climate

Government Information

Selected Soil Science Websites

  • Web Soil Survey
    Searchable, interactive detailed soil maps for most counties of the U.S. Precise areas can be viewed using the database’s locator tools. Also included is text of soil types of the selected site, and suitability of the soils for uses. Provided by U.S. NRC
  • CRIS- Current Research Information System
    National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) database of federally funded ongoing and recently completed research in agriculture, food & nutrition, and forestry. To be replaced in future by NIFA’s REEport system.
  • ATTRA-National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
    Information and other technical assistance to farmers, ranchers, Extension agents, educators, and others involved in sustainable agriculture in the United States. Provided by USDA-ATTRA (Appropriate Technology Transfer for Rural Areas)
  • Candadian National Soil Database (NSDB)
    Computer readable files and/or web base pages with soil, landscape, and climatic data for all of Canada. Provided by Canadian Soil Information Service.
  • Climate Prediction Center - Soil Moisture Monitoring
    A series of maps showing most recent day, monthly and 12 months calculated soil moisture, anomalies and percentiles; 25-year average soil moisture & soil wetness that are used in the soil moisture outlook.
  • National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
    USDA agency involved with the conservaton, improvement, and sustainability of U.S. natural resources and environment. Programs include the national soil survey, and various wetlands, water quality, forest, resource and grazing land conservation
  • ND Hub Explorer Viewer
    Interactive mapping tool that displays GIS Hub layers, grouped by data category: i.e., soils, streams and water bodies, geologic features, geopolitical information, highways, railroads and more.
  • Official Soil Series Descriptions
    USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) Soil Series Classification Database. Contains a searchable file of the official series names, classifications, and soil descriptions of each soil series identified in the U.S.
  • Soil Orders
    Provides brief descriptions and images of soil profiles and landscapes by Prof. Paul McDaniel of the Soils Science Division of the University of Idaho.
  • Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)
    Society information and services, and links to other soil science sites.
  • Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE)
    Provides information and grants regarding sustainable and alternative agriculture. The site includes tip sheets, information of programs and publications, funding opportunities and educational materials.
  • Worldwide Soil Health Information Portal
    Access to selected agriculture information, subject area experts, and other resources. Hosted by Cornell University; part of National Agricultural Library’s AgNIC network.
  • World Soil Information Database (ISRIC)
    "Since its beginning in 1966, ISRIC - World Soil Information has built up a collection of more than 20.000 articles, country reports, books and maps with emphasis on the developing countries. The subject emphasis is on soils, but related geographic information on climate, geology, geomorphology, vegetation, land use, and land suitability is also important. The map collection contains over 6000, mainly small-scale (1:250.000 or smaller) maps"
 

Get Help

Ask us for help using chat at the bottom right of the screen.

Call the reference desk at: 701-231-8886

Email: ndsu.library.reference@ndsu.edu

North Dakota State University Libraries
NDSU Dept #2080 PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Reference (701) 231-8886
Circulation (701) 231-8888
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip