This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. Government Documents Resources for Library Staff" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U.S. Government Documents Resources for Library Staff  

Resources of use to library staff who work with Federal depository collections.
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Government Publications Collection

The United States government is the largest publisher in the world, publishing thousands of items a year on almost any subject imaginable in a variety of formats. These publications are the result of the activities of the many government departments and agencies; they are up-to-date and written by authorities on the subjects. Many contain statistics not available elsewhere. To make this vast amount of information available to the public, the government has designated libraries (known as Federal Depository Libraries) to receive copies of these publications. Seven libraries in North Dakota are Federal Depository Libraries; they're listed on another tab in this guide. The Livingston Lord Library at Minnesota State University Moorhead also is a depository.

The NDSU Library has been a Depository Library since 1907, and maintains a growing collection of more than 530,000 items.

The NDSU Library and the Chester Fritz Library at the University of North Dakota together constitute a Regional Depository. This means that every depository publication is received and retained by at least one of the two libraries. The collection is divided between the two libraries by government departments.

A list of agencies whose publications are available at UND and NDSU is shown on another tab in this guide. Each library may also receive some publications from the other library's categories. For example, NDSU receives some publications from agencies such as the Census Bureau, NASA, Smithsonian Institution, and Internal Revenue Service, which are in UND's area of responsibility.

How to Find Government Publications Call Numbers

Many government publications in NDSU's collection are included in our Library Catalog. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications contains references to print and electronic information products created by Federal Government agencies, though not all items included are available at NDSU. Print indexes are available in the reference collection for locating older publications.

Government Publications in the NDSU Library

Print government publications are shelved in the northwest section of the upper level of the Main Library. Maps are filed in the northwest section of the lower level. Microfiche are kept at the Storage Annex but can be requested through the Pull Service.

Collections are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents classification system. This system is based on government organization rather than subjects, which keeps all publications from the same government department or agency together.

Government publications may be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Items not available at NDSU may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Government Information via Internet

Federal agencies are making an increasing amount of information available via Internet. Many electronic government publications are included in the NDSU Library Catalog and the Government Printing Office Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

School of Education Liaison

Profile Image
Char Myhre
Contact Info
Senior Reference & Instruction Librarian
North Dakota State University
NDSU Dept. 2080
P.O. Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050

701-231-9746
701-231-7138 (FAX)
Library Room 111
char.myhre@ndsu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 
North Dakota State University Libraries
NDSU Dept #2080 PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Reference (701) 231-8886
Circulation (701) 231-8888
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip