Articles (Online Databases) -
North Dakota State University Libraries have invested in databases designed to end your searches with high quality, relevant content.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014
Library databases (also called indexes) are like search engines (but search journal, magazine, newspapers and other sources), usually dealing with a broad subject.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text from 1975-present for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
- JSTOR - Journal Storage (ITHAKA)
JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- ProQuest Databases (ProQuest)
Full-text and bibliographic databases. Subject coverage includes general reference, business, health, arts, children's, computing, education, humanities, international, law, military, medicine multicultural, newspapers, nursing, psychology, sciences, social sciences, telecommunications, women's interests, genealogy, and many more.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is one of the world's largest electronic collections of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
- SciFinder Registration
In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.
- SciFinder (CAS)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
- Web of Knowledge (Thomson Reuters)
Subject coverage includes sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The database provides bibliographic content and tools to access, analyze, and manage research information.
- Find Newspaper Articles
Databases for searching newspapers, online newspaper indexes, and directories of regional newspapers.
NDSU Libraries is currently evaluating the following databases. The NDSU community is invited to participate in the free trial access. Please provide any feedback you may have to your subject librarian.
- Cochrane Library (Trial ends May 3, 2014)
The Cochrane Library is a health science database that includes,
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
About The Cochrane Collaboration
- CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher (CQ Press) (Trial access until April 24, 2014)
In addition to our ongoing online subscriptions to CQ global researcher, CQ weekly, and Congressional quarterly's editorial research reports, we will have access to following for a one month trial,
CQ Almanac 2012
Historic Documents of 2013
Political Handbook of the World 2014
Politics in America 2014
Supreme Court Yearbook 2013-2014
Vital Statistics on American Politics 2013-2014
Washington Information Directory
- Minitex (Trial access until April 30, 2014)
Take a look at the e-resources available at discounted Minitex pricing!
- PBS Video (Trial until April 27, 2014)
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
- Royal Society Journals (Trial access from February 12 - August 12, 2014)
In addition to our ongoing online subscriptions to Proceedings of the Royal Society series A and Proceedings of the Royal Society series B, get six month trial access to the following Royal Society Journals:
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society series A
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society series B
Journal of the Royal Society Interface
Notes & Records
- Social Explorer (Trial access until May 2, 2014)
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change. The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.