A guide to finding Chemistry and Biochemistry books, articles, reference information, and more.
Last Updated: May 2, 2016
Use these databases to search for chemistry research articles and chemical information. If your topic is multi-disciplinary, use one of the general databases listed in the General Science Database box.
- SciFinder (CAS)
Chemistry database. Use SciFinder to search for chemistry articles, chemical patents, chemical properties, and more. Search using topic words, chemical formula, molecular structure, or by chemical reaction.
First time users must register using the SciFinder Registration link below.
- SciFinder Registration
In order to use SciFinder, please visit the SciFinder Registration page first to create an account for yourself.
- Analytical Abstracts (RSC - Royal Society of Chemistry)
Analytical chemistry database. Covers articles published in analytical chemistry journals from 1980 to the present.
- METADEX - 1966-current (ProQuest)
Materials science database. Covers materials science journals, conferences, books, patents, and technical reports from 1960 to the present. Materials covered include steels, metals, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.
- Toxnet - Toxicology Data Network
Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine, covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Search for toxic chemical data, regulatory information, toxicology journal articles, and more.
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
If you would like to browse current chemistry journals, visit the American Chemical Society's journal list.
Use these general science databases to find articles on chemistry, chemistry-related research, and multi-disciplinary research.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
General science database. Covers more than 100 years of science and technology journals and conference proceedings. Cited reference searching allows you to find out when an article has been cited by someone else. You can also use this feature to find highly cited articles.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
General science database. Covers science and technology journals and books. Some journals are available full-text directly from the database.
- Inspec (Elsevier - Engineering Village)
Includes citations from publications in the fields of physics, material sciences, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and related fields.
- Compendex - Engineering Village (Elsevier)
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers. 15.8 million records across 190 engineering disciplines.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.