Last Updated: Jan 20, 2016
Depending on your topic, you may want to start with one of the following databases. See the next box (below this one) for more options.
- AGRICOLA (ProQuest)
AGRICOLA, produced by the National Agricultural Library, is a catalog and index of literature pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. Contains information on journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, patents, technical reports, and more. Includes or links to full-text when possible.
- Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
This database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents.
- CAB Abstracts (CAB Direct)
Covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1913.
- Ecology Abstracts (ProQuest)
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
- USDA Forest Service - FS INFO
Indexes journal articles and chapters in books for natural resources and all aspects of forestry. Covers Forest Service Research Publications dating back to 1904, other USFS publications, and other research journals. Some are linked to online text.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
You may also want to try these:
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Full text database for Business periodicals and trade publications, including Wall Street Journal, and local and regional news coverage. ABI is comprised of 3 databases: Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text from 1975-present for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics (UMN)
Index with full text to scholarly reports in agricultural and applied economics. Most land grant universities' Agricultural Economics Departments contribute their papers to this database, as well as significant societies and conferences in the field.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. This database includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
- CRIS - Current Research Information System (USDA)
The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- e-Answers (ADEC, ACE, CSREES-USDA)
Extension Service publications from U.S. Land Grant universities. A publically available searchable database with links to full text. Covers a broad spectrum of agricultural topics.
- EconLit (ProQuest)
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.