NDSU Libraries resources for marketing
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Find your industry: http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
- Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Provides information on the income and buying habits of American consumers
- American FactFinder (US Census stats)
The U. S. Census Bureau's homepage for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Very useful for those collecting statistics for a business plan.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
An incredible number of business statistics are available through BLS, including Employment Projections, County Wages, Pay and Benefits data, and information from the Occupational Outlook Quarterly
- American Time Use Survey
Measures the time Americans spend doing various activities, including work, volunteering, socializing, child care and more
- Survey of Consumer Finances
Provides detailed information on US family finances
Transportation statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Transportation. Useful for those looking at modes of transportation in the US
- National Agricultural Statistics Service
Demographic data on farmers, farmers, farmland, and farm animals
- North Dakota State Data Center
North Dakota's official source of population and socio-economic statistics. Has some good North Dakota stats at the state and county level (for the city/community level, see link below)
- North Dakota Community Profile Data
This is an excellent North Dakota government source for demographic and social data at the city/community level
- North Dakota Traffic Counts
Find the busiest intersections in your city.
- Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand
Identifies the top spenders by demographic category for numerous types of products and services.
- American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping
Identifies trends in spending for various products and services. Includes breakdowns on quarterly and weekly spending patterns based on demographic categories.
- American Generations
Provides generational profiles (iGeneration, Millenials, Generation X, etc.), including detailed demographics.
- Mergent Intellect
Search by city, zip code and more to find demographic data from Nielsen. Includes the ability to compare geographic areas.
- 411 Small Business Facts
The National Federation of Independent Business operates 411 Small Business Facts to provide statistical information on a variety of topics related to small businesses
- Ad Age American Demographics
Provides articles analyzing demographics and spending patterns
Arbitron is the Nielsen of radio--that is, it's the major market research producer for radio
Provides business statistics, primarily financial ratios
- Designated Market Area (DMA) Analysis
From Nielsen/SRDS, this resource provides updated information on spending patterns and demographics broken down by geographic area in the United States.
- Marketing Charts
A series of lists and charts (with sources!) on things as diverse as top books of the year and how many cell phone subscribers have smartphones
Though very useful for professional marketers, especially those in the media field, most information on Nielsen is not free and does require a paid account (the library does not subscribe)
- Pew Research
Find demographic data and look at "Projects" for information on specific topics (Internet users, Hispanics, etc.)
Intended to be a way for businesses to select the best community to locate in, but also very useful for providing statistics on a given community
Chat: find the chat box in the lower right corner
Email: Library Reference