NDSU Libraries resources for marketing
Last Updated: May 11, 2015
These databases provide a six-factor country risk analysis and data on the population, politics, exports and imports, and GNP of various countries.
- Business Source Premier
Under "Publication Type," select "Country Report." Search for your country. On the left of the search results page, under "Geography," limit by your country. Limit to full text and sort by date newest.
- ABI/Inform Complete
Click on "Advanced Search." Under "Document Type," select "Statistics/Data Report." In the "Location" box, type in the name of your country. Click on "Search."
These databases provide country-specific industry information that may provide valuable information on the country's marketing conditions. Contact Laura Trude for assistance.
- Business Source Premier: Industry Profiles
Click on the "Industry Profiles" tab. Browse for an industry category of interest. Click on it to view related subindustries. Includes country-specific industry reports.
- ABI/Inform Complete
Click on "Browse." Look at the "Industry and Market Research" options to find relevant industries. The "Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports" include more country-specific industry reports.
- Euromonitor International Passport
*Trial through March. Find data on competitors, brand share, consumer expenditures, and more by industry and country. Includes articles on industry trends and consumer lifestyles by country.
Find historical, cultural, and economic information on your country using these reference resources. These resources are available as part of a trial.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations
Choose a volume from the drop-down list (i.e. Europe for Greece) and select your country. Covers 50 topics, including history, government, foreign and domestic trade, and more.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Choose a volume from the drop-down list and click on your country. Includes information on relationships, family life, food, employment, recreation, crafts and hobbies.
Available in the Business Learning Center reference section located in Barry Hall, Room 22:
International Consumer Markets 2014
Call Number: Barry Hall Library Stacks HF5415.32 .M554 2014
Analyzes consumer markets by industry sector and region. Includes country analysis for 15 nations.
The World's Business Cultures
Call Number: HF5389 .T66 2014
Offers guidelines for understanding business cultures around the world. Includes business culture overviews of a dozen regions.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides country overviews and economic data, including the GDP; major industries, exports, and imports; population; and political system.
- FRED: Countries
Provides economic data. Offers the ability to create and download charts. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
- United Nations Statistical Yearbook
Provides country-specific demographics and economic information.
Illustrates statistics for European countries.
- OECD: Stat Extracts
Compare economic, social, and demographic statistics by country.
- U.S. Department of State
Find information on your country's political and economic situation.
Also look at your organizations within your industry to find news and statistical information.
- International Trade Centre
Offers detailed trade statistics and country profiles.
- Trade Stats Express
Find U.S. merchandise exports, imports, trade balances and state and regional exports of merchandise.
- Census Bureau - Foreign Trade
Reports on international trade with the US. Use the "Schedule B" tab to identify your product's Schedule B number.
- Export.gov - International Logistics
Find your product's HTS number, Country Specific HS Code, Schedule B number, tariffs, import fees, and more.
- Foreign Agricultural Service
Find data based on commodities, countries, and more. Publishes the World Production, Markets, and Trade Reports.
- Fedex Country Snapshots
Learn about shipping requirements and service availability for shipping to and from international countries using Fedex.
- MME Global Lines
Provides ocean rates for exporting from the US.
- APX International Shipping
Provides international shipping rates from the US.