This is the "Home" page of the "Governor's School - Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Governor's School - Engineering  

Last Updated: Jun 8, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/governors Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles: Scholarly vs. Popular

Check out our tutorial to learn more about the difference between popular and scholarly sources: https://library.ndsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-journal-tutorial

Examples of articles from popular and scholalry sources 

POPULAR

SCHOLARLY

News  Article

Perry, S. (2014, May 12). More evidence that yawning helps our brains 'keep their cool'. MinnPost. Retrieved June 8, 2016, from https://www.minnpost.com/second-opinion/2014/05/more-evidence-yawning-helps-our-brains-keep-their-cool

Original/Primary Research Article

Massen, J. J. M., Dusch, K., Eldakar, O. T., & Gallup, A. C. (2014). A thermal window for yawning in humans: Yawning as a brain cooling mechanism. Physiology & Behavior, 130, 145- 148. 

http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.physbeh.2014.03.032 

Magazine Article

Koren, M. (2013, January 28). Why do we yawn and why is it contagious?. Retrieved June 8, 2016, from http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/why-do-we-yawn-and-why-is-it-contagious-3749674/?no-ist

Review Article

Gallup, A., & Eldakar, O. T. (2013). The thermoregulatory theory of yawning: What we know from over 5 years of research. Frontiers in Neuroscience, 6(188), 1-13. 

http://dx.doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2012.00188 

 

Choosing Keywords for Searching in a Database

 

Finding Articles in Databases

Databases contain information about different kinds of resources. You can search databases to find many kinds of documents, such as articles (journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc.). Some databases contain only information about these documents, and some also provide you with the full-text of the documents.

Accessing Databases through NDSU Libraries

1. Go to library.ndsu.edu

2. Click on the word DATABASES located below the search box in the gray banner.

3. Databases are listed by Subject, Title, and Most Popular

Databases to Try

Multidisciplinary (covers multiple research areas, not just engineering)

    • Academic Search Premier
    • SciTech Collection

Specialized by Topic (such as engineering)

    • Engineering Village

Database Search Bar Tips

Check out our page about tips for searching in databases (they don't work the same as Google!)

https://library.ndsu.edu/tutorials/database-search-bar-tips

 

End of Class Form

Please take a few minutes to answer the questions on the form at https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1oYEUXlugqyp1WsoAqXmA-oy-1gyT3uwMy10e7sKPQw8/viewform

 

Or complete the form below:

 

Agricultural Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Nicole Juve
Contact Info
office: Main Library, 218A
phone: 701.231.8879
fax: 701.231.6128

mail:
North Dakota State University Libraries
NDSU Dept 2080, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Send Email
Subjects:
Agriculture
 
North Dakota State University Libraries
NDSU Dept #2080 PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Reference (701) 231-8886
Circulation (701) 231-8888
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip