This is the "Home" page of the "Library Futures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Futures  

Resources for a conversation about the future academic library
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/libraryfuturestoolkit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annual Reports

 

Library Futures Toolkit

This LibGuide functions as a "toolkit" for a discussion of library futures at NDSU. It  gathers some core resources that inform how librarians, higher education professionals, technologists and others identify and think about trends and contexts impacting the role of the academic library in the 21st century. The changing nature of academic libraries is closely tied to changes in higher education, student learning styles and expectations, and the marketplace that is scholarly communication. These things evolve; so will libraries.

This gathering is not comprehensive; it should not be static. The documentation included in this toolkit is meant to start conversations. It is representative of the issues that the NDSU Libraries will confront at we ask ourselves three simple questions: Who are we? What do we do? Why does it matter? 

While the emphasis is on documenting national trends in academic libraries, the answers will be local, and will fit the needs of NDSU, a student- focused, land grant, research university with unique strengths, perspectives, and aspirations.

Bridget J. Burke, Dean of Libraries

September 2015

 

Unsustainable environments

A recent report from the Academic Affairs Forum of the Educational Advisory Board discussing realligning library collections and services with digital information services structures: 

[EAB] research suggests that in the next five to 10 years, successful academic libraries will have moved aggressively in the following directions:

·        Emphasizing access to—not individual ownership of—resources

·        Calibrating acquisition strategy to patron needs based on detailed usage data

·        Incentivizing and incubating low-cost and open-access venues for scholarly research

·        Shifting staff focus from managing collections to embedding support services within courses and faculty research teams

·        Opening library space to accommodate patrons, rather than physical volumes

What's new?

New for Spring 2016:

Sci-Hub unmasked: Piracy, information policy, and your library. Sci-Hub uses stolen credentials to download expensive content from academic libraries and make it available "free" to others. NDSU Libraries have been targeted repeatedly by individuals using valid, but stolen, NDSU credentials to download articles in quantity. Read about the issues and implications in this short article in College & Research Libraries News.


From 2015:

Top trends in academic libraries, from streaming video to data management. Association of College & Research Libraries Environmental Scan for 2015

Does place matter?  The Library as a Verb: Technological Change and the Obsolescence of Place in Research thinks it is what we do, not where we are.

An access-based collection development philosophy means that users choose the resources they want. The University of North Texas Libraries' white paper on their "access-based collection development policy" proposes demand-driven acquisitions models.


From 2014...

Journal of Library Innovation A model open-source peer-reviewed journal devoted to contemporary library practice and theory.

5 things we know about college students [and libraries] They like us, they really do. Print too. From the Chronicle.

The Ubiquitous Librarian A blog from the Chronicle focused on "user sensitive librarianship."  This week's post is about creating a space for digital poster sessions in the library. 

Open Science Initiative Working Group Report This working group was comprised of 112 participants from around the globe---a diverse team of scientists, open access experts, scholarly librarians, publishers, research managers, and more. During most of November, the group debated online (at osi@onlinegroups.net) about how to improve the academic science publishing system, and open access in particular.

Library Expenditures Benchmarks  The Association of Research Libraries includes many Carnegie-ranked research institutions. See what they spend on collections materials in this searchable table from the Chronicle of Higher Education

Redefining the Academic Library (2011) A report from the Academic Affairs Forum of the Academic Advisory Board. Illustrates how progressive academic libraries are evolving in response to the rapidly changing information landscape and new user demands, providing case studies and best practices in managing library space, staff, and resources. (NDSU is a member, you may need to create an account with your NDSU email to view this)

Hunt Library, North Carolina State University. Watch a video about this shiny new library built around technology-rich space supporting different learning styles and information needs.

Library Futures Lecture Series, University of Maryland College Park. UM has taken a structured approach to envisioning the library of the Future. View or listen to recordings of talk about the future of print collections, collaboration across the institution, publishing and open access, and other topics.

      
    North Dakota State University Libraries
    NDSU Dept #2080 PO Box 6050
    Fargo, ND 58108-6050
    Reference (701) 231-8886
    Circulation (701) 231-8888
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip